Latest Art Information

The Craft of Cantonese Musical: Composition and Lyrics

Talk 1: Musical composition with Leon Ko

Looking at Leon Ko’s songs “Recruitment” from the 2008 Cantonese musical Field of Dreams and “Tao Te Ching” from Ko and Shum’s musical The Impossible Trial, Hedy Law analyzes the features of Ko's works.

 

In the second half of the session, Law and Ko will have a conversation about his creative process.

Talk 2: Musical lyrics with Chris Shum

Hedy Law explores he three main elements involved in writing: the semantic meanings of words, linguistic tones and rhymes, and the combination of syllables, vowels and tones.

The lyrics of Chris Shum’s “Singing as One Team” from Field of Dreams (2008) and the lyrics of “A World in a Grain of Rice” from The Impossible Trial as examples,  Chris Shum discusses his creative process and his collaboration with Leon Ko.

All talks will be conducted through Microsoft Teams. Registered participants will receive a streaming link with their confirmation email.

West 
Kowloon 
西九  101

Date:

07.01.2021 to 21.01.2021

Time:

12:30-14:00

The Stage Movements of Cantonese Opera

Known as hongdong, the roles of Cantonese opera are mainly categorized according to the gender, age, identity, character and proportion of participation. No matter the characteristics of actors are, they can learn hongdong that they like. The male character is "Sang", and the female character is "Daan".

In this series of two talks by experienced Cantonese opera performers, Xie Xiaoyu, a specialist in dan (female roles) and Ng Lap-hei, a specialist in sheng (male roles), take an individual look at the stage movements related to specific roles.

 

Talk 1: The Stage Movements of Cantonese Opera: Male Roles

Sang is the overall designation of all male roles. According to the age of the roles, traditionally, elder sang includes mousang (literally, martial man) and sousang (literally, man with beard), while younger male roles are called siusang (literally, young man). In recent years, the role system of Cantonese opera troupes has changed from “Ten Roles” to “System of Six Major Roles”, which means employing six major artists to take over the whole play. The System of six major roles has kept the mousang and sousang. On the other hand, divide the major male roles into manmousang as the leading male role and siusang as the second leading male role.

This event will take place at the Xiqu Centre and will also be live-streamed on YouTube.

Talk 2: The Stage Movements of Cantonese Opera: Female Roles

Daan is the overall designation of all female roles. It is common to call the younger female role as faadan (literally, flower female). In the System of Six Roles, the female roles are categorized according to the proportion of participation. The jingyan faadaan is the leading female role while the yibong faadaan is the second leading female role.

This event will take place at the Xiqu Centre.

West 
Kowloon 
西九  101

Date:

26.01.2021 to 23.02.2021

Time:

19:30 - 21:00

《不確定之旅》
《不確定之旅》

press to zoom
《寂靜》
《寂靜》

press to zoom
《時空的反射》
《時空的反射》

press to zoom
《不確定之旅》
《不確定之旅》

press to zoom
1/3

Mori Art Museum "Chiharu Shiota: The Soul Trembles"  Tour Exhibition

"The Soul Trembles" is Chiharu Shiota's largest and most comprehensive exhibition devoted to the Japanese artist, gathering the essence of her 20 years of creation. The exhibition centers on her six large-scale installations. Besides, three-dimensional sculptures, video, photography, sketch manuscripts of the creative process, and precious materials on stage design are included, and presenting the "sense of being in absence" that Chiharu Shiota has always pursued. This allows the viewer to actually experience the meaning of the journey of life and the subtleties of emotion.

 

One: "Uncertain Journey"

Chiharu Shiota hopes to express the abstract concepts of human memory, anxiety, dreams, and silence through the structure of thin lines. "Ship" is a theme often used by Chiharu Shiota. In "Uncertain Journey", the existence of the ship is more abstract. Under the space surrounded by red lines, it symbolizes that there will be many encounters on the unknown journey.

Second: "In Silence"

Chiharu Shiota used fire in the dark night in her childhood neighbor as his memory, and created "In Silence". In a space entwined with black lines, a scorched piano symbolizes silence and plays music in a visual way.

Third: "Reflection of Time and Space"

In this "Reflection of Time and Space", the skin-like dress symbolizes the inner and outer of people, and is hidden in the space woven by black lines, which makes people feel that it is "absent but exists", which is reflected in mirror images. The two dresses discussed the consciousness of reality and fiction.

This event will be held in Taipei Fine Arts Museum

West 
Kowloon 
西九  101

Date:

01.05.2021 to 22.08.2021

 

Tai Kwun Circus Plays - Bring Circus Home

During this festive season, enjoy the breathtaking and exhilarating circus performances at home, and experience the acts with the most ordinary household objects to create your own circus.

"Ting-Koo-Ki Mad Skills Battle" will be held again this year. Moreover, following the Ninja masters in the online "Ninja Challenge" to awaken your martial arts instincts with your family and children. Handicraft lovers must not miss the light theatre workshops “Dancing Shadows on My Heads” and “Not 2D but 3D Pop-up Workshop”, where you will learn to create shadow masks, headdresses and pop-up books to illustrate your own stories at home. "Fancy Football Primary School" is taught by local professional fancy football players to teach different moves, and you can learn it at home. Half way.

This workshop will be held online

 Tai
 Kwun
 大館

date:

24.12.2020 to 28.02.2021

time:

12:30 - 14:00

Artwork Information

Introduction of some works on the website

Di Lai - Cheung Manling

Di Lai refers to the sound of the wind passing through the holes of the earth. The sound of nature forms a harmonious symphony, creating myriad kinds of variation, all through the magic of the wind. The wind is invisible, yet it possesses immense power; the same is true to human beings, what are us without souls?

Woods - Hilde Mertens

In ' Woods ', Hilde Mertens have approached traditional Chinese ink painting method with a Western approach. Rather than depicting a realistic picture of tree branches, Mertens has merged his concept of branches with ink painting. One can certainly feel the branches, but not necessarily see the actual contours of it.

The Little Girl I - Nimchi Yuen

In ' The Little Girl I ', Nimchi Yuen uses heavily textured paint to depict the emotions of the little girl sitting in front of the viewers. Although the painting is manifested in ambiguity, one can still sense the harmony between different elements in it.

​01/2021 - Monthly News

最新藝術資訊

粵語音樂劇的曲詞要點

講座1:與高世章論作曲

        羅倩欣將分析高世章的作品特色,包括音樂劇《頂頭鎚》(2008)中的歌曲〈招兵買馬〉、《大狀王》中〈道德經〉。高世章亦將闡述其作曲思維過程,有助觀眾欣賞高世章的多元及跨代音樂風格。

講座2:問岑偉宗點作詞

        羅倩欣將分析粵語音樂劇歌詞的三大要素:中文字詞語義、粵語的聲調元素和韻腳,以及作詞人如何用音節、元音和語調做創作工具,加以組合和變化,令觀眾感受到「語言聲韻層」。

        以《頂頭鎚》(2008)中岑偉宗創作的〈同路人在唱〉、《大狀王》中的〈撒一場白米〉歌詞為例,岑偉宗將縷述創作時如何將粵語聲調和中文字詞分開思考,同時又整合處理,並細說他與高世章合作多年的探索與收獲。

所有講座將於線上平台Microsoft Teams進行,參加者登記後將收到網上直播連結。

West 
Kowloon 
西九  101

日期:

07.01.2021 21.01.2021

時間:

12:30 - 14:00

粵劇基本功與文武場身段

        粵劇的角色類型主要據劇中人的性別、年齡、身份、性格及戲份而區分,統稱為「行當」。演員不管男女老少,亦可按照專攻的行當學習。男性角色為「生角」,女性角色是「旦角」。

       西九將就是次主題舉行兩場講座,主攻旦角的謝曉瑜及主攻小武的吳立熙透過影片及現場示範,介紹不同角色的身段、武場的對打,及「做、打、舞」如何藉象徵手法抽象傳達劇情

 

講座1:粵劇基本功與文武場身段 ── 生角

        男性角色的統稱。根據角色的年齡,傳統上年紀較大的生角有「武生」和「鬚生」,而年輕生角則稱為「小生」。近代,粵劇戲班的體制由「十大行當」發展成「六柱制」,即是由六位主要演員擔任全劇演出的骨幹。「六柱制」除保留了「武生」和「鬚生」,也根據戲份的比重,劃分全劇最主要的生角為「文武生」,第二生角為「小生」。

此活動將於戲曲中心二樓演講廳舉行及於YouTube網上直播

講座2:粵劇基本功與文武場身段 ── 旦角

        女性角色的統稱,而行內又習慣稱呼年輕女性角色為「花旦」。在「六柱制」中,旦角根據戲份的比重而劃分,主要有「正印花旦」,即全劇的第一女主角,「二幫花旦」,即第二女主角。

此活動將於戲曲中心二樓演講廳舉行

West 
Kowloon 
西九  101

日期:

26.01.2021 23.02.2021

時間:

19:30 - 21:00

森美術館《塩田千春:撼動的靈魂》巡迴展

        《撼動的靈魂》為塩田千春歷年最大規模的個展,集結她 20 年來的創作精華。展覽以她的6件大型裝置藝術為中心,再加上立體雕塑、創作過程的錄像、攝影、素描原稿,與舞台設計的珍貴資料,呈現塩田千春一貫追求的「缺席中的存在感」,藉此讓觀者實際體驗人生旅途的意義,以及情感的微妙之處。

 

其一:《不確定之旅》

        塩田千春希望透細線結構,表達出人類的記憶、不安、夢境與沈默等抽象概念。而「船」是塩田千春經常使用的題材,在《不確定之旅》中船的存在更為抽象,在紅線圍繞的空間之下,象徵著未知的旅程將會出現許多邂逅。

其二:《寂靜》

        塩田千春以幼年鄰居家發生的暗夜惡火為記憶,創作出的《寂靜》,在黑線纏繞的空間裡,燒得焦黑的鋼琴,象徵著沈默,又以視覺的方式彈奏音樂。

其三:《時空的反射》

        這件《時空的反射》中宛如皮膚的洋裝,象徵的人們的內在與外在,而隱沒在黑色線條編織成的空間裡,讓人感到它的「不在卻又存在」,以鏡像反映出的兩件洋裝,又探討了虛實的意識。

此活動將於台北市立美術館舉行

Mori Art 
Museum 
森美術館

日期:

01.05.2021 22.08.2021

 

玩轉大館馬戲季: 馬戲線上看

        一連串緊張刺激的雜耍演出、輕鬆有趣的工作坊會於網上呈現,讓觀眾利用家中的物件學習和體驗不同雜耍技巧,創造屬於你的馬戲。

        《釘孤枝熱血大亂鬥》今年將再舉行。另外,「小忍者道場」的一眾忍者師父將會在網上獻技,並將「忍術」技巧傳授給身處家中的大小朋友;《影子偶然在頭上跳舞》及《不平面立體主義故事工作坊》將分別教授觀眾製作影子面具、影子頭飾及立體書,結合燈光和影子,自己製作小劇場;《花式足球小學堂》由本地專業花式足球運動員教授不同的招式,在家亦能學上一招半式。

此工作坊將於網上進行

 Tai 
 Kwun 
 大館

日期:

24.12.2020 28.02.2021

時間:

12:30 - 14:00

 藝術作品資訊

網站部分作品介紹

地籟 - 張曼靈

地籟乃大地發出之聲。大自然中的聲音相互共鳴、相互吸收,千變萬化,交織在一起,全因風聲帶動。風是無形無相,卻有無比的力量;同樣地,假若我們的肉身沒有像風一樣的靈性,便有如行屍走肉。

Woods - Hilde Mertens

Hilde Mertens 的《Woods》 以西方角度切入傳統中國畫,Mertens 選擇將他對樹的概念糅合於水墨和留白,而非將具像的樹以傳統中國畫風呈現出來。

The Little Girl I - Nimchi Yuen

Nimchi Yuen 以極具質感的顏料繪畫坐在觀眾面前的女孩。雖然這畫作呈現出模棱兩可的畫面,但是我們依然可以在不同的元素當中找到一種和諧。

​二 零 二 一 年一月 - 月訊

Marble Surface

關注最新消息

Marble Surface
Marble Surface

地址: 

新界葵涌金龍工業中心四期24樓B

© 2020 By Art Box.